TELAS Framework & Assessment Structure

TELAS Online is based upon the TELAS Framework developed by ASCILITE©.  The framework comprises 4 domains for online learning and the online assessment form comprises two standards for each of these domains. A description of the four domains is provided below.

Each standard contains a set of performance criteria. Reviewers are asked to select several score for each performance criteria that are referred to as success indicators.

You will find a more detailed description of the assessment forms and their layout in the guidelines for each user type and a PDF version of the Framework is available here.

Online Environment

This domain refers to the form and function of the online environment where learning occurs.  Important elements include the user experience; user interface; navigation strategies; functionality; layout and accessibility.

Learner Support

This domain refers to how the online environment supports the online learner. Important elements include learning information and support; information and support for learners beyond the formal curriculum and learner and teacher interactions.

Learning & Assessment Tasks

This domain refers to the online activities that authentically engage learners and enable them to develop new capabilities. Important elements include learning and task design and feedback; communicating participant expectations and learner engagement.

Learning Resources

This domain refers to the material and tools that learners have access to which enable their engagement and learning. Important elements include delivery, functionality, quality and compliance.